Press Release

Educational Society of Ireland

Pangea Maths Competition 2018

Pangea, the Europe wide mathematics Olympiad has just celebrated its 5th highly successful annual event in Ireland. Currently 21 countries run the Pangea competition with over 500,000 students participating.

 The competition sets out to eliminate the fear of Maths through promoting participation while inspiring talented students to quest for mathematics excellence.

 This year the competition was both online and paper-based, students throughout Ireland completed first round papers under supervision within their own schools. Approximately the top 130 then attended the Irish finals in Trinity College Dublin on May 12th and finalists were awarded with medals and a voucher.  The school with the most participants overall won an iPad.

 Hosted by The Educational Society of Ireland (ESI) and graciously attended by Maureen O’Sullivan TD, James Lawless TD, Prof. Sinéad Ryan from the School of Mathematics of Trinity College, Prof. Richard Conroy of The Royal College of Surgeons, Dr Johnston McMaster, ESI Advisory Board, Dr. Peter Admirand DCU, Dr. Gerald Keane BCL, Senator Ged Nash, Senator Padraig O’Ceidigh, Senator Gerard P Craughwell, Senator Gerry Horkan, with messages of support sent by Minister of State for Training, Skills, Innovation, Research and Development Mr. John Halligan, Senator Ms. Ivana Bacik, and Senator David Norris.

 The winners of Pangea 2018 were awarded as follows:

Primary 5th class

1stKeelan Morris of Scoil Diarmada, Kildare,

2ndMayra Estrada of Powerstown Educate Together National School, Co. Dublin

3rdSuhaniBhagatof St. Francis Xavier’s Senior School, Dublin.


Primary 6th class

1stMatthew Kelly of Scoil Cholmcille, Donegal,

2ndJonathan Byrne of Scoil Naomh Iosaf, Limerick

3rdCalm Xiao of St Mary’s Parish Primary School, Drogheda.


1st year winners:

1stTiernan O’ Shaugnnessy of Gaelcholáiste Luimnigh

2ndLiam Ward of Coláiste Chiaráin, Athlone

3rdJodie Ni Maoldomhnaigh of Gaelcholáistean Chláir


2nd year winners

1stEmily Wolfe of Mount Mercy College, Cork,

2ndJason Horan of St Mary’s CBS, Portlaoise

3rdNina Keating of Mount Mercy College, Cork.


3rd year winners

1stSeoda Ni Chaoimhof GhaelcholáisteLuimnigh

2ndOscar Ganley of St Mary’s CBS, Portlaoise

3rdDaraO’ Sullivan of GhaelcholáisteLuimnigh.


4th year winners

1stDaniel Lough of Coláiste Chiaráin, Athlone,

2ndYi Ming Qin of St. Paul CBS, Dublin

3rdCianMcauliffe of Ghaelcholáiste Luimnigh.


The prize for most participants went to: Ghaelcholáiste Luimnigh, Limerick.

The finals proved a resounding success with large numbers of students, teachers, parents and supporters in attendance. ESI CEO Fiona O’Malley predicts an even bigger event in 2019 based upon an ever-increasing number of schools and students involved in the event over the years.